Mettre un puzzle avec un enfant est ennuyeux

15 03 2011

Please excuse the lack of posting, but the past couple days have been very laid back.  We’re back to having poor weather, which limits what you can do.  Other than a few museums that doesn’t interest me in the slightest, we’ve done all there really is to see in Nice.  So on a rainy day, there isn’t much to do, since walking around the city and sitting on the beach isn’t exactly an option like it is when the sun it out.

Laid back days aren’t exactly bad things though.  Jon had a lot of design work to do for a client back in the states, and I took advantage of the time by working 3 weeks ahead in one of my classes.  I’d prefer to work ahead in large chunks than have to constantly concern myself with it during the week.

Tomorrow we’re having another classmate dinner, this time at Khalid’s.  Tonight Jon and I went over to show him how to make our tzatziki, which became quite popular after we hosted lunch.  Needless to say, I’m at least excited about eating that tomorrow.  He’s a great cook though, so I’m always excited about dinner there.

Other than that, all I can say is that if I decide to have a child one day (which after spending 3 months here is highly unlikely) he will be properly socialized.  No “Only Child Syndrome” for me, my child will know how to share.  I have a growing list of things my hypothetical child will and won’t do, which includes but isn’t limited to: eating more than just bread, knowing how to use an inside voice, not watching television all day, everyday, etc.  This probably only made it on this post because I sat down to do a puzzle on the coffee table in the living room while Nicolas was doing something else, and he dropped what ever he was doing to show me how to properly put the puzzle together.  In other words, he completely took over and wouldn’t let me put it together myself.  Classic only child.  So irritating.  I enjoy jigsaw puzzles, and I haven’t done them in a while, so I was kind of excited, despite its mere 64 pieces.  I feel the need to by a 5000 piece mystery puzzle when I return to the states now.  Maybe I will.

C’est la vie.


Actions

Information

4 responses

28 03 2011
acleansurface

Ah, inside voice. I have noticed that adults, myself included, speak more loudly while excited. My theory is that children are always excited, hence the loudness.

28 03 2011
carolineheywood

You’re probably right about that one. I try hard to remember that, but some things just aren’t worth getting that excited about. Thats when it feels like kids are too loud. I guess we’ll see with time if I can get used to that. Haha!

16 03 2011
Cristina

You know what a good way to cure only child syndrome is…..
have more than one kid.
hahahaha so now you should write rules for your hypothetical children!

17 03 2011
carolineheywood

Hahaha, my hypothetical children will be very well behaved. :P

Leave a comment