Bonne Fête de St. Patrick!

18 03 2011

Sorry for my absence, yet again.  I promise you its only because the nights have been nice enough to go out and enjoy with our friends.  So the recap:

Wednesday, Jon and I went out shopping with Fabiola and Ilona, and I actually had some luck.  I finally found a pair of boots, which unfortunately already have two mystery stains that I thought were water but they haven’t disappeared like the other water spots did.  Guess I get to buy shoe polish for the first time.  Also, found a new shirt and skirt from H&M, some tights to wear since its still a little nippy.  Ilona introduced us to a really neat and cheap jewelry shop close to Vieux Nice, and I got a charm bracelet that has an OWL ON IT!  I love owls, so I was happy.  After some shopping and some gelato (mango for me) we went to Khalid’s for dinner, and as always, had a wonderful time.

Yesterday was of course, St. Patrick’s Day.  Bummed that my first legal St. Patty’s would be in a country that won’t have a place to celebrate it, I was very excited to hear that there is an Irish pub in Vieux Nice that is a blast on March 17th.  So we went with Fabiola, Ilona, Niko and a few of their friends, got their just in time to snatch the last table, and got to relax and have a little bit of fun.  Not being a beer fan, I thought I would just be watching Jon enjoy his all night, but I was mistaken.  They had a full liquor bar and I was happy.  Until I realized that I had been drinking just as many drinks as Jon and he was feeling it and I could hardly keep a buzz.  I know, its not that important to feel drunk, but if I had just as many drinks, all of which had tequila or whiskey in them, and I wasn’t feeling it at all, then they definitely water down their liquor.  I was bummed, but definitely still had a good time.  Also, the bartenders and waiters their spoke English.  It felt really good to relax and not have to concentrate on every little thing I say.

Today, Jon and I went a little farther past Vieux Nice to he could get a Laguiole pocket knife.  They’re particularly pretty, very handy, and made in France.  He’s been keeping his eyes open for one since we got here and finally found one he liked.  After that, we went to the beach.  I wore my swimsuit hoping it would be warm enough to try and bronze a little, but it wasn’t.  I didn’t mind though, I still got to lay on the beach and catch up with Julia Child.  Jon enjoyed skipping rocks, as always.  A skill I have yet to master.  I’m hoping the sun will be out tomorrow.  We’re planning on going for a run tomorrow, then laying on the beach a good portion of the afternoon.  Tomorrow evening we’re going out with Fabiola and Niko to some clubs in Monaco.  I’m excited, I knew I brought my party dress for a reason!

Bonne week-end! (Yes, that is French! Haha)


Actions

Information

4 responses

18 03 2011
Rachel

Authentic Irish pub? I’m jealous. Lol. We just have the imitation O’Coreleys. Lol. How do the beaches there compare to the ones here?

18 03 2011
carolineheywood

As authentic as you could get in Nice! It was really cool though, and their fish and chips were awesome, so its authentic enough for me until I get to one in Ireland towards the end of our trip!

The beach here is COMPLETELY different. If you check out my earlier posts, or even my Facebook album, you’ll see its rocks on the beach instead of sand. I like this better because I hate it when sand sticks to you when you’re wet or sweaty, but its a little uncomfortable to walk on even with shoes on sometimes. But when you lay on the beach, you just have to do the same thing you would with sand: wiggle around enough until you move the rocks where you want!

As for the water, its much bluer than most beaches in Florida, but its still too cold to swim in right now so I can’t tell you much more about it. Haha :)

18 03 2011
Cristina

H&M and owls!! I’m envious!! I’m so glad that you’re having a good time now!!! Dance a few dances for me!

18 03 2011
carolineheywood

Oh you bet I will! :)

Leave a comment